Waffle House brings families together

I have a confession to make. I love Waffle House! Their coffee is ok; I like hash browns scattered, smothered, and covered; and their waffles are good. I think that I may have gained 15 pounds from eating there today. But do you know the main reason I love Waffle House? It’s because that is where Peyton likes to go. Peyton is my 4 year old and we are best buddies. Many times on Friday mornings, Peyton and I get up early and let mommy and his sister sleep in, and we go and have a date at Waffle House. This is usually followed by a trip to the gym to burn off the 15 added pounds I received from the combination of grease, calories, and wonderful tasty goodness that is the Waffle House.

The thing that is so awesome about these Waffle House dates now is that Peyton is initiating them instead of me. Last night he walked up to me and said, “Daddy, tomorrow can just the boys go to Waffle House and get a waffle?” Yes, I almost started crying!

One of the things I have realized over the last several years is that I can work my tail off in ministry for the rest of my life (I plan to), and minister to a lot of different people…and if I invest in all of those people, and do a fantastic job meeting their needs, but if I don’t disciple my kids and invest in them, I will be a failure in ministry.

My family is my first ministry and I am committed to doing the best I can at being a husband and a Dad. I know that I am going to make a lot of mistakes as a dad, and I will not always get it right. But one of the main things I am choosing to get right is to make time for my kids. One thing I know is that I can’t disciple Peyton and Lauren if I don’t spend time with them. I don’t have an agenda when I spend time with Peyton. More than anything I want to create an atmosphere, where he always wants to hang out with me and ask me questions…and I will trust God to guide those conversations and provide me with teachable moments to point him to Jesus.

This morning it happened like this…Peyton was talking about the trip he took this week to go visit Grandpa and Grandma. He told me all about his trip and about the trains he saw, and what the trains did, and then we talked some more about trains. In case you missed it he is kind of a freak about trains. Then he asked me “Daddy why was I born?”

At this point I decided that it was not the time to explain the finer points of conception and where babies come from. So we talked about the fact that he was born because that was God’s plan and God loves him and wanted him to be on this earth. Then he asked me “Why was that God’s plan?” I told him how special he was and how God had a special plan for his life. It was an unbelievable thing to see his eyes light up and to watch him process that God created him, that he is special, and that God has an incredible plan for his life. Then he said to me, “Daddy, God made me special.”

I can’t wait for thousands of moments just like this one in the future.

To all the dads out there I want to say that I understand how the concept of discipling our kids and leading our families can be overwhelming. But it doesn’t scare me the way it used to. I have realized that if we will take one day at a time, be open to God and seize the opportunities He gives us, He will equip us moment by moment for this high calling that is on all of our lives to disciple our kids.

Dad’s how are you being intentional in investing in your kids this week?

Finally, I want to say to Peyton…buddy you are 4 now and you are growing so fast. I know you can’t read this yet or understand it right now, but one day when you do read this I want you to know that God made you because He loves you and He has an amazing plan for your life. You are special! I want you to know that God gave you to me and mommy and we know that you are a special gift to us from Him. We love you so much. I don’t think I ever truly understood the amazing way that God loves me until you were born and I understood the love a dad has for his son. I am committed to pointing you toward Jesus and helping you discover your potential in Christ. I love spending time with you and I can’t wait to have many more conversations with you like the one we had today. I love you buddy and I will always have your back no matter what!

