A funny thing happened tonight at church

We had an awesome day at NewSpring today. Perry presented one of the clearest presentations on baptism I have ever heard. One of the coolest parts of our services today was the 4 people that we baptized on stage as part of each service. It was so awesome to watch each of them give their testimony for how Jesus has changed them during the Illuminate series. Thank you God for the amazing way you save! After the video testimonies, Dave Nimmons, one of our care pastors, or I got to be a part of each baptism.

After a great day and 4 services, we saw 361 people come down to meet with one of our staff members/care volunteers and sign up for baptism this Saturday!

(Just to acknowledge how clumsy I am…yes, I did trip getting out of the pool during the 6:00 service and nearly kill myself! A huge shout out to Lee and Brad for catching me and helping me not to embarrass myself too much.)

So…a crazy thing happened after church. I was hanging out and talking to my dad in the atrium right before I was leaving to go home, and a lady approached me and asked to talk with me. Her name was Claudia, and she proceeded to tell me about how Jesus had saved her at one of our services last week. She said that she was going to be out of town next Saturday, but that God had moved her through Perry’s message tonight and she knew that she needed to be baptized. She asked me if we still had the pool set up on stage and if so, was there any reason she couldn’t get baptized tonight.

Immediately I thought about this passage…

Acts 8:36-38 – As they traveled along the road, they came to some water and the eunuch said, “Look, here is water. Why shouldn’t I be baptized?” And he gave orders to stop the chariot. Then both Philip and the eunuch went down into the water and Philip baptized him.

I told her “absolutely, we can do that!” We still had the pool set up, so I went and changed, Sydney went and got Claudia some clothes to get baptized in, and we gathered up everyone that was still at church and had one more baptism.

I asked Claudia the same question I asked everyone today before they were baptized…“Claudia, who is your savior and Lord?” And she answered, “Christ Jesus is my savior, He changed my life!”

I baptized her, and everyone cheered! It was such a powerful event. Claudia, thank you for being obedient to what God asked you to do tonight. You are awesome! It was a moment I will never forget.

I can’t wait for this Saturday when at least 360 more people who Jesus has radically saved will tell the world that Jesus is God and that He has changed their lives!

