Cremation Q&A

I have received around a half dozen questions about the subject of cremation over the last several weeks. Since this is a subject that many people are thinking through, I thought I would share one of those emails…

Q: I would like to hear your thoughts about cremation. I was raised that its wrong. But cant find it in the Bible anywhere. I also cant find the
scripture that says ashes to ashes, dust to dust. Could you email me and tell me where it talks about this in the Bible. Thank you.

A: The passage where pastors get the phrase, “ashes to ashes, dust to dust” is from what God said to Adam in Genesis 3:19 –

By the sweat of your brow
you will eat your food
until you return to the ground,
since from it you were taken;
for dust you are
and to dust you will return.”

Scripture also mentions “dust and ashes” in Genesis 18:27 & Job 30:19.

The Bible does not specifically talk about cremation. Cremation was practiced in Biblical times, but it was not commonly practiced by the Hebrews or by New Testament believers. Some believers object to the practice of cremation on the basis that it does not recognize that one day God will resurrect our bodies and re-unite them with our soul and spirit (1 Corinthians 15:35-58; 1 Thessalonians 4:16). However, the fact that a body has been cremated does not make it any more difficult for God to resurrect a body. The bodies of Christians who died a thousand years ago have completely turned into dust by now – and God will be able to raise their bodies. Cremation does nothing but “expedite” the process of turning a body into dust. God is equally able to raise a person’s remains that have been cremated as He is the remains of a person who was not cremated. I hope this has helped, let me know if I can help you with anything else.

(A part of this answer was found on the website http://www.gotquestions.org)

