My preschooler speaks the truth about sinners

My son, Peyton, is 4 years old. A couple of mornings a week he goes to a preschool program in town. Yesterday when I picked him up to go to lunch, I asked him about what he did at preschool that morning.

He said his favorite thing was playing in “centers.” Centers are where they get to rotate through several activities and play in different spots. The problem was that instead of pronouncing it “centers” it sounded like “sinners.”

So here is how the conversation about preschool went yesterday…

me: “Peyton, what happened in your class today?”

Peyton: “We had sinners in my class today!”

me: “You did?”

Peyton: “I like it when we have sinners.”

me: (while laughing uncontrollably) “oh really?”

Peyton: “Later when I get home, I’m going to have sinners in my room.”

me: (While continuing to laugh and trying not to drive off the road) “I don’t know if that is such a good idea.”

Peyton then proceeded to tell me that I was silly and wanted to know what I was laughing about. I told him that it sounded like he was saying “sinners”, and explained to him how that word was like the word “sin.”

Then Peyton said…“Daddy, your silly. I already know about sin. Jesus died on the cross to pay for our sin.”

I love talking with Peyton…he is one of the smartest people I know.

