I’m Back…Vacation, Care Staff Changes, and more

It has been a few weeks since I have posted anything.  Here is what has been going on with me since then:

– 2 weeks ago I was out of the office all week, sick with a stomach bug…I am better now.  I think I might be the worst sick person ever…I don’t handle being sick very well.

– Last week I went with my family on vacation to the beach.  We had such a great time together.  It was a great time to get recharged and refreshed.  I love hanging out with my wife and my kids!

Alden is moving to the care ministry! Alden Ellis transitioned over the last month into the care ministry from the youth ministry.  This was such a God thing.  Alden is going to lead the day to day operations of the care ministry, so that I can oversee both the care ministry and the outreach ministry that we have at NewSpring.

I am so excited about Alden being a part of this ministry, but I did have a major concern about him today.  I might have to take away his “man card” for this twitter that he posted while on vacation this week… “I just had a Spa treatment that left me feeling like I am floating on clouds!! That junk was awesome!!”

We gave a single mom a house.  and gave a family a handicap accessible van. I love being a part of this church!  You can watch that service here.  Jamie Salmon, our Outreach Coordinator did a fantastic job leading the house project.  A huge thank you to all the volunteers and staff that made this possible.  We worship an extremely generous and gracious God.  I believe that He has called the church to reflect His character by our generosity to others.  It was so awesome to see the church step up in such an incredible way to meet these needs in our church family.

Peyton turns 5 years old today! Happy Birthday buddy.  I can’t believe how big he is.  He has had such a great day.  He got a giant sticker that says “It’s my birthday” at preschool this morning.  He kept asking me at lunch today how everyone knew it was his birthday (I tried to explain to him that the giant sticker on his shirt helped people figure it out).

We went to his favorite restaurant today for lunch… Skins.  If you’ve never had a Skins hotdog…well, then you’ve never had a real hotdog.  We also ate their chocolate cake for desert…yes, we are all very full, and bloated.

