The truth about people – part 1

God has been teaching me some simple and powerful truths lately about life and people. These truths have challenged the way that I look at myself and others. Here are 3 things that I believe are true about every person.

1) People Need Healing

Healing from what? That is the first question that pops in my head when I look at that statement. And the answer is we all need healing from the hurts in our past. I need healing and you do to.

You see, everyone has a past. Everyone has skeletons in their closet that they are not proud of. We all have things that have hurt us and shaped the way we view ourselves and the world around us. We all have regrets. Some of those we caused ourselves, and some of those we had no control of.

As I have met with people in the past and shared with them that I thought that they needed healing, many have responded to me that I can’t understand what they have been through. And you know the truth, they are right. I wasn’t there when those hurts were caused. And even if the same things happened to me, I am a unique individual and I process things differently than someone else dealing with the same situation would. But God was there and he does understand what each of us have been through. He also understands how to heal those hurts. The problem is that often times we are unwilling to trust Him to heal the places inside of us that need healing the most.

What is amazing to me is the fact that we are afraid of healing. As human beings we want to pretend like our hurt isn’t there. We guard it like we would a broken rib…”as long as nobody touches it or makes me move that area, then I can deal with it.” No we can’t! We have to die to our rights. Die to those rights we feel like we have to hold on to our hurt. The truth is that we have a right to be free and to be healed. That is what God wants for us. But for that to happen, we have to trust Him to deal with our pain. We have to trust Him to open up the wound and clean it. Trust Him to do surgery on our hearts. Trust Him to lead us into the forgiveness process that we are all called to.

To be truly healed, first you have to trust God. So how do I learn to trust God? I will share my thoughts on that tomorrow.

