The truth about people – part 2

In my last post I talked about how people need healing. I believe that true healing will not be accomplished until we trust God to move in our lives so that we can be whole, healthy people.

So, How do I trust God to heal me?

Before we can consider that, you have to understand that you will never trust God until you believe that He speaks to you. I am amazed at the Christians that I talk with that really don’t believe God still speaks to people. That blows my mind because many of those same people believe with all their heart that the Bible is God’s word. Over the last few months my view of scripture has been dramatically challenged. I have come to realize that the entire Bible is a book about God speaking to people. All throughout scripture you see God speaking and then people either choosing to listen to God or not. To be obedient to His voice or not. God is speaking…are we listening?

How do I learn to trust God?

I remember many years ago when I got fired from a job (long story I will share another time). It was a devastating loss to me. I tried to get a job everywhere and could not get anyone to hire me. I had a degree in biology, and I could not even get a job at Lowe’s or Home Depot watering plants. I did what I had to do to make ends meet (painting houses, substitute teaching, etc.), but I could not get a full-time job. During this time I was struggling badly with my self worth and struggling with trusting God with my future. My father-in-law saw how I was struggling with everything and spoke some truth to me that I will never forget about trusting God.

1) You learn to trust God by trusting God

Sounds simple enough right. Let me explain. You will never learn to trust God by watching someone else do it. You will not learn to trust God by reading about it in a book. You want do it by reading this blog and listening to me ramble about this subject. You only trust God by actually doing it. That takes me to point 2.

2) You never trust God until you have to

What I mean by this is that I know myself and my human nature. If I am in a difficult circumstance I will do anything humanly possible to get out of that circumstance. My first thought when things are uncomfortable is not to trust God, it is to find a way out of the situation on my own power. We never trust God until we have to. So…

3) God will make sure that you have to

God is going to allow circumstances in our life that we have no human way of wiggling ourselves out of. He does that because for us to accomplish His purposes in our lives, He has some things He needs to teach us. He wants us to trust Him, but the only way we learn that is by doing it. We never learn that until we have to. So, He loves us enough to put us in situations that we have to trust Him with. The great news is we never really fail a test that God gives us to learn to trust Him. We just get to take it over and over again until we pass!

I went almost a year after being fired from that job without full-time employment. And you know the truth, I would go through all of that pain and struggle again to have learned what God taught me through that experience.

God took me to a verse during that time that I had read a hundred times before then, but it came to life in those circumstances.

James 1:2-4 Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

God allows trials in our lives because He loves us. He does it to teach us to trust Him and to mature us and make us more like Jesus. We have to trust God to receive His healing because for God to heal us often times He has to break us. He has to shatter the misconceptions that we have of Him. He has to remove the lies that we have believed about Him, ourselves, and others. He has to do surgery on our hearts.

What do you need to be healed of? Ask Him…He will tell you. The truth is, if there is something that needs to be dealt with, we probably already know what it is, we just don’t want to let go of the control we think we have on that area of our lives. But if you are not sure what it is, I have good news…God will reveal it to you. We don’t have to go digging for things. God loves us enough to tell us what He wants to do in us and then to do the work. He is the only one that can change us. God will do it, all we have to do is listen for His voice and then cooperate with Him and trust Him to heal us. It might be a painful process, but I promise you it will be worth it.

