The truth about people – part 5

3) People want to live a life of purpose

I don’t know what my great grandfather did. As a matter of fact I don’t even know what his name was. I was thinking about that the other day when I was contemplating my purpose in this world. Just a couple of generations after my great grandfather lived, I don’t know what he accomplished while on this earth. I thought about whether my grandkids or great grandkids would know about me or my life. And then God hit me with this thought…Is this life about making a name for myself and people knowing who I am, or am I devoting my life to something bigger than myself.

We all want to know that our lives mean something and that they make a difference. We all want to live a life of purpose. God tells us what a life of purpose looks like in Micah 6:8 –

He has shown you, O man, what is good.
And what does the LORD require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
and to walk humbly with your God.

Our purpose is to walk with God and pursue His desires for our life and to live according to what He says is right and just. God has created each of us with certain gifts and abilities and we all have great potential that we can use if we will simply walk with Him daily.

So, let me ask you something. Are you searching for your purpose in this world? Do you know what God has created you for? And if you do know… Are you doing it? Ask yourself what makes you feel alive and what makes you feel close to God? Then do those things. Life is too short to not know your purpose. Your role on this earth should be the relentless pursuit of who God has made you to be.

But I believe that you can’t live a life of purpose without believing that God accepts you and loves you just the way you are. Often times we believe lies and think that because of what we have done in our past that there is no way that God loves us. And the truth that trumps that lie is that we are more sinful than we could ever imagine and God’s grace and love is more abundant than we could ever comprehend.

We all have a desire to be loved and accepted in this world. Where we find that love and acceptance is what is important. Because you will never find the acceptance and love and satisfaction you desire in the things of this world. You are an eternal being and the things of this world are finite. If you fill your lives with finite things, you will always want and desire more. And that is why we see so many unsatisfied people in this world. We all are in the constant pursuit of more to fill up our lives. But you can’t fill up an infinite soul with something finite. God is infinite and he is the only thing that can satisfy your soul. God wants you to understand that this life has purpose and meaning and it is this…

God has placed you on this earth to discover who Jesus Christ is and to live a life radically devoted to him. So, let me ask you, Is Jesus Christ your life? He wants to be! He accepts you just the way you are and he wants to pour out that love on you. And he wants you to have life and have it to the full. I believe that we will never truly live with meaning until we know the author of life and allow Him to become the reason for our lives. Please know today that Jesus Christ has accepted you and he loves you.

So how do you discover your purpose? Ask the one who created you and wants you to discover it more than you do. Scripture says in Micah 7:7

But as for me, I watch in hope for the LORD,
I wait for God my Savior;
my God will hear me.

Know that your God hears you and wants to talk with you and have a relationship with you. Whatever your need is today whatever you want to talk to him about. Know that your God will hear you and that he loves you and wants to give your life purpose.

So, I don’t know what my great grandfather did in this life. I don’t know if my great grandkids will know about me when I’m gone. But in the end, I’m ok with that because my purpose is not about me and my name. Its all about me dying to myself and living my life to make the name of Jesus famous.

