God’s Purposes for Marriage – Part 3

4) Glorify God

Genesis 1:28 – God blessed them and said to them, “Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air and over every living creature that moves on the ground.”

I love that God tells us to subdue the earth. More than anything, I believe that in using that phrase, God is telling this 1st married couple that they are not there to just sit and take up space. They were not just there to consume. God wanted them to make an impact.

If you are married, or preparing to be married, then you need to understand that He has the same desire for your marriage. God is creating something special.

He has bigger plans than just your happiness. He wants you to make an impact. But to do that you have to realize that marriage is not all about you.

I have seen some girls go into a mini depression after the wedding. All of the focus and attention has been on them and on having a perfect day. The problem is that often times when a couple is getting married, they plan more for the wedding than they do for the marriage.

One of the main reasons a couple should get married is because they realize that God’s call on their life is to marry that person and be stronger together than apart. God designed you to serve him and for your family to go farther for God together than you ever could alone.

What is your desire for the last day of your life? I heard a pastor named Voddie Bauchum say one time that his desire is to look at his wife and tell her that he has always been faithful to her, and then after he has finished fighting for the cause of Christ to be able to see his children go farther in proclaiming Jesus than he ever could.

That is my desire to. But for that to happen, I must understand that this life and my marriage is not all about me. It is all about God. And when I realize that He is the focus and not my selfish desires I will then live my life the way He directs every day. God designed marriage for several reasons. But the main one is to bring glory to the name of Jesus. Because of that, He is going to use marriage to refine and sanctify us. It is not just to make us happy. But to grow us and make us more like Jesus.

Are you making the impact with your marriage that God designed you to make?

