God’s Purposes for Marriage

Recently I did a series of posts on God’s purposes for Marriage. I believe that God has 4 main purposes for marriage. 1) Intimacy, 2) Children, 3) Companionship, 4) For us to Glorify God. Here are some thoughts on those 4 purposes in these links:

God’s Purposes for Marriage – Part 1 – Intimacy &Children

God’s Purposes for Marriage – Part 2- Companionship

God’s Purposes for Marriage – Part 3 – Glorify God

Because of all of these purposes, God wants to give you His best! He wants to give you more than you can ask for or imagine.

Ephesians 3:20 – “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.”

If you are preparing to get married, let me ask you a question…Is the person you are marrying more than you can ask for or imagine. If that answer is not an easy yes, you I would challenge you to pray about the relationship before moving forward.

I have to confess that my wife, Suzanne, is not what I expected…

She’s better! She is God’s best for me. She makes me better. She makes me more like Jesus. And I wouldn’t trade my worst day with Suzanne for a dream day with anyone else.

For the dating/engaged couple – Is the person you are thinking about marrying more than you can ask for or imagine?

For the married couple – Are you focused on being a blessing and being a servant to your spouse? Or are you waiting on your spouse to change and assuming that is what it will take for your marriage to be successful? It might be that your spouse needs to work on some things, but that does not negate your responsibility to serve and love them unconditionally. If change is needed it starts with you, not them. Are you being more than your spouse could ask for or imagine?

