Our Generous God

Last week I spent some time reflecting on all that God let me be a part of in 2008.  And I began to think through what was ahead in 2009.  As I was doing that, God spoke to my heart and challenged me with 2 questions.  Here is what He asked me…

1) Did I take care of your needs in 2008?

2) Do you trust me to take care of you this year?

Those questions were a huge challenge to me.  And as I was meditating on how generous God was to me last year, I realized that I can trust and I must trust God to provide for me this year also.

God has been generous to us.  He has provided everything that we need.  God has amazing things in store for you this year.  Do you trust Him?

Thinking about all of that, God took me to a passage of Scripture in 1 Chronicles 29.  Here we see King David preparing for the building of a place for the people of God to worship.  His reflections on God’s generosity and his people’s generosity are profound:

11 Yours, O LORD, is the greatness and the power
and the glory and the majesty and the splendor,
for everything in heaven and earth is yours.
Yours, O LORD, is the kingdom;
you are exalted as head over all.

12 Wealth and honor come from you;
you are the ruler of all things.
In your hands are strength and power
to exalt and give strength to all.

13 Now, our God, we give you thanks,
and praise your glorious name.

14 “But who am I, and who are my people, that we should be able to give as generously as this? Everything comes from you, and we have given you only what comes from your hand.

17 I know, my God, that you test the heart and are pleased with integrity. All these things have I given willingly and with honest intent. And now I have seen with joy how willingly your people who are here have given to you.

God has been generous to us.  And if we understand His heart of generosity for us and how freely He provides for us, then we can’t help but respond with a heart of generosity back to God and those He puts in our path this year.

How has God called you to be generous this year?

