Searching for Purpose in Life

This was my last article for the Anderson Independent.  I really enjoyed my time on the faith and values board and the opportunity to share my thoughts in that forum:

I don’t know what my great grandfather did. As a matter of fact, I don’t even know what his name was. I was thinking about that the other day when I was contemplating my purpose in this world. Just a couple of generations after my great grandfather lived, I don’t know what he accomplished while on this earth. I thought about whether my grandkids or great grandkids would know about me or my life. And then God hit me with this thought: Is this life about making a name for myself and people knowing who I am, or am I devoting my life to something bigger than myself.

We all want to know that our lives mean something and that they make a difference. We all want to live a life of purpose. God tells us what a life of purpose looks like in Micah 6:8 —

He has shown you, O man, what is good.

And what does the LORD require of you?

To act justly and to love mercy

and to walk humbly with your God.

Our purpose is to walk with God and pursue His desires for our life and to live according to what He says is right and just. God has created each of us with certain gifts and abilities and we all have great potential that we can use if we will simply walk with Him daily.

So, let me ask you something. Are you searching for your purpose in this world? Do you know what God has created you for? And if you do know, are you doing it? Ask yourself what makes you feel alive and what makes you feel close to God? Then do those things. Life is too short to not know your purpose. Our role on this earth should be the relentless pursuit of who God has made us to be.

God wants you to understand that this life has purpose and meaning and it is this: God has placed you on this earth to discover who Jesus Christ is and to live a life radically devoted to him. I believe that we will never truly live with meaning until we know the author of life and allow Him to become the reason for our lives.

So how do you discover your purpose? Ask the one who created you and wants you to discover it more than you do. He will show you what His plans are for you. Scripture says in Micah 7:7 —

But as for me, I watch in hope for the LORD,

I wait for God my Savior;

my God will hear me.

Know that your God hears you and wants to talk with you and have a relationship with you. Whatever your need is today whatever you want to talk to him about. Know that your God will hear you and that he loves you and wants to give your life purpose.

So, I don’t know what my great grandfather did in this life. I don’t know if my great grandkids will know about me when I’m gone. But in the end, I’m Ok with that because my purpose is not about me and my name. My true purpose and legacy is about the name of Jesus and people knowing Him and what He has done for them.

