Thoughts on Isaiah 1:18,19

Isaiah 1:18-19

“Come now, and let us reason together,”

Says the LORD,
“Though your sins are as scarlet,
They will be as white as snow;
Though they are red like crimson,
They will be like wool.
“If you consent and obey,
You will eat the best of the land;

In a passage talking about the rebelliousness of his people, God offers an exchange.  He wants to take my sin.  And he promises not just to leave me empty when he takes it.  He wants to fill me with his purity and presence.

To have this exchange, God does all the work.  I receive the privelege of partnering in the exchange.  My role is what is says in v. 19.  To “consent and obey.”  To be willing and obedient.  To say “yes” to God before I even know what the question is or the exchange is because I know that he is trustworthy

Father, change my heart.  Remove my sinfulness and grant me your purity and presence and peace.  Help me to be willing and obedient to seek your righteousness, not mine.

